Police Dept.

Police Department

1 Municipal Blvd.
New Castle, DE 19720
Office: (302) 322-9800
Fax: (302) 322-9825

Emergencies Dial 911

For non-emergency calls for police service call 573-2800 – this number is a non-emergency New Castle County number,  staffed 24 hours around the clock by call takers.  They will dispatch City and/or County Police.

The New Castle Police Department is one of the oldest existing police departments in the nation. In 1672, Edmund Cantwell became the High Sheriff over the town and river territory that included New Castle.

Today the New Castle Police Department continues the legacy established by those fine officers who served with the Department since the 17th Century. That legacy is one of dedication to duty and service with honor through five centuries of ever changing times.

The New Castle Police Department exists to preserve life and property and to provide a safe environment for residents of New Castle and visitors to the beautiful and historic city. By all standards, thanks in a large part to the service provided by the police department, New Castle is a safe and peaceful community in which to reside or to visit.

Mission Statement The New Castle Police Department exists to preserve life and property. The Department is charged with providing a safe environment for the residents of New Castle and for those who visit the city. Dedication to duty and service with honor are the cornerstones of the organization.

Vision Statement The New Castle Police Department will deliver quality service in an effective and efficient manner. Delivery of effective and efficient service is doing what is right and doing it the right way. All members of the Police Department will contribute to the development and maintenance of an organization that will cultivate the total confidence, unwavering trust and absolute respect of the citizens of New Castle and its governing body, as well as the entire Delaware Criminal Justice Community.

Department Roster

Daniel Tjaden – Chief of Police
Adam P. Brams Sr. Lieutenant
Bernard M. Torre Master Sergeant
Jamie C. Rogers Master Sergeant
Thomas M. Donlon Master Corporal/Detective
Richard P. McCabe Master Corporal/Detective
Edward A. Dempsey Master Corporal
Louis Torres Senior Corporal
Thomas Fuller Senior Corporal
Gene Wood Senior Corporal
Tina M. Shughart Senior Corporal
Robert E. Singleton Senior Corporal
Richard J. Perillo Senior Corporal
John C. Donmoyer Senior Corporal
John T. Pullin Corporal
Keith W. Dempsey Corporal
Paul D. Allston Patrolman 1st Class
Judi S. Brockett Secretary
Pat Coulbourn Secretary