Resolution 2020-20

A Resolution Authorizing Placement of a Suffrage Centennial Marker in Recognition of the 100th Anniversary of the 19th Amendment Approximately 100-200 feet past the 1 ¹/₄ Mile Marker Along the Biking Path South of Dobbinsville

WHEREAS, Mayor Michael J. Quaranta has been asked to have the City of New Castle erect a "Suffrage Centennial Marker" within the City limits commemorating the 100th Anniversary of the 19th Amendment granting women the right to vote; and

WHEREAS, this request has been supported by retired Judges Richard Cooch and Susan C. Del Pesco, as well as Michael Connolly, Executive Director New Castle Historical Society; and

WHEREAS, The William G. Pomeroy Foundation is funding a special program for suffrage markers and will pay for forging and shipping the historical marker to its destination; and

WHEREAS, The National Collaborative of Women's History Sites has agreed to install the Suffrage Centennial Marker provided the City agrees to be responsible for maintaining it; and

WHEREAS, it has been suggested that a suitable location for the Suffrage Centennial Marker would be approximately 100-200 feet past the 1 ¼ Mile Marker along the biking path south of Dobbinsville on property owned by the City.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the City Council of the City of New Castle that authorizes the installation of a Suffrage Centennial Marker by the National Collaborative of Women's History Sites commemorating the 100th Anniversary of the 19th Amendment, such marker to be forged and shipped to the City by the William G. Pomeroy Foundation at no expense to City taxpayers; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Mayor Michael J. Quaranta is authorized to advise the National Collaborative of Women's History Sites of the City's permission to install the Suffrage Centennial Marker approximately 100-200 feet past the 1 ¼ Mile Marker along the biking path south of Dobbinsville on property owned by the City, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the City undertake to maintain the Suffrage Centennial Marker following installation.

PASSED this 8th day of September, 2020.	
Linda Ratchford, City Council President	Valarie W. Leary, Councilperson
Michael M. Platt, Councilperson	Russell P. Smith, Councilperson

Suzanne M. Souder, Councilperson	Attest:	
	Brian Whitaker, City Clerk	