Resolution 2024-36

A Resolution to Establish the Chief Eugene Petty Police Accountability Committee (PAC)

WHEREAS, the City of New Castle Police Department was first accredited in 2020 through the Delaware Police Accreditation Commission (DPAC); and

WHEREAS, the City of New Castle Police Department was awarded re-accreditation in July 2024, through a unanimous vote of the Delaware Police Accreditation Commission (DPAC); and

WHEREAS, the statewide police accreditation program develops standards to ensure consistency of police operations, totaling to 108 standards necessary to become accredited in compliance with Police Officer Standards and Training Commission (POST) standards in order to retain accreditation; and

WHEREAS, prior to the Police Officer Standards and training Commusion (POST) establishment, Delaware Law had established the Der ward Council on Police Training (COPT) to oversee accreditation; and

WHEREAS, in 2023, House Bill 206 was approved and chended the Delaware Code related to Police Officer Standards and Training Commissions and provided for many things including establishing Police Officer Standards are Proining Commission (POST) and also issuing guidelines for local police emerging commissions or boards; and

WHEREAS, Chief Kogene Petty has the first African American Chief of Police for the City of New Castle and made statificant contributions to the City of New Castle Police Department; and

NOW THEREFORE, BE INCESOLVED, that the City of New Castle shall establish the Chief Eugene Petty Police Accountability Committee (PAC) in accordance with Delaware Code.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Chief Eugene Petty Police Accountability Committee (PAC) will be established by the Chief of Police to appoint members of the community to serve on the board to provide advice to the department on policy, training, how the department engages with the community and other issues related to or affecting the department and the communities served by the department.

PASSED this 17th day of September 2024 Joseph F. Day, III, Councilperson Suzanne Souder, City Council President Nermin Zubaca, Councilperson Andrew Zeltt, Councilperson Attest: Brian Mattaway, Councilperson ylor, City Clerk Courtar Ň