Committees & Boards

The City is always looking for civic-minded residents to serve in various capacities. If you are interested, please contact the City Office.

Board of Building Appeals

(Meets as needed)
Governed by Chapters
140 and 141 of the City Code
Patrick Kirkley, Chair
David Connell
Tim Johnson
Angela Marconi
Lynn Sheridan

Board of Health

(Meets four times a year, the last Tuesday of January, April, July and October, at 6 p.m.)
Discuss Board of Health Issues
Joseph Day, III, Chair
Marie Gatter
Eleanor Green
William Hentkowski
Dr. Joanne Viola
Eileen Jane Burk

Board of Elections

(Meets during City election year [odd years])
Responsible for carrying out laws, regulations and rules for City Elections
Marianne Caven, Chair
Bob Blakely
Susan Hagar
John Lloyd
Richard Schiller

Emergency Planning and Operations Committee

(Meets as needed at Police Station)
Develops Plans for and Oversees Operations of Emergency Situations
City Administrator William Barthel
Public Works Supervisor George O’Neal
Police Chief Richard McCabe
Fire Chief Chris Robinson
Fire Marshal Jeff Bergstrom
Civil Defense Coordinator Furio Casale
MSC Representative Pamela A. Patone

Historic Area Commission

(Meets second Thursday at 6:30 p.m.)
Oversees the building and/or exterior restoration of buildings located within the Historical District of the City
Laura Fontana, Chair
Leila Hamroun, (AIA Architect)
David Baldini
Mark Chaump
Jean Norvell
Marty Wright

Municipal Services Commission
(Meets monthly at 216 Chestnut St.)
Responsible for Water and Electric Utilities for the City of New Castle.
Dr. Roy J. Sippel, President
Daniel F. Knox
Dr. Allen R. Hansen
Secretary Pamela A. Patone

Planning Commission

(Meets fourth Mondays at 6:30 p.m.)
Creates and Updates Comprehensive Plan and reviews development proposals.
David Baldini, Chair
Brenda Antonio
Marco Boyce
Jonathan Justice
Gail Seitz
Russell P. Smith
Peter Toner
William Walters
Vera Worthy

Tree Advisory Commission

(Meets first Mondays at 4:00 p.m.)
The City of New Castle Tree Advisory Commission acts in an advisory capacity for the City of New Castle regarding the maintenance of the street trees and other trees on City property.

David Robinson, Chair
John Antonio
Marco Boyce
John Lloyd
Tom Maddux

All meetings are held in Town Hall unless otherwise noted.